Where I’m At

My name is Kimberly Martinez, originally from Arizona and now residing in Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania.  I am currently in my last semester of college at Pennsylvania College of Technology where I am studying to obtain my Bachelor’s in Business Administration with a concentration in Marketing.  Since I was able to take college credit courses in high school as well as summer courses, I am able to graduate only after three years at Penn College.

Graduating college is a very exciting event for me because I will be the first person on my dad’s side of the family to attend college and graduate.  Completing my college career in only three years is an added bonus for me.  I am happy to be able to get out into the workforce at a young age.  Each of these accomplishments makes me very proud of myself after all the hard work I have put in to my education.  Another accomplishment I am proud of is that while taking twenty-one credits in one semester, I was able to keep a 3.57 GPA which qualified me for Dean’s list.

Going into college I didn’t have a set plan with an end goal in mind.  All I knew was that I liked the business field and I enjoyed marketing.  In my first semesters of college I just kept telling myself I still had enough time to figure it all out.  Here I am now, my last semester, and I still do not have a plan.  Surprisingly, I’m not upset by it.

While in college I have been working part time at a few different places and I’ve created good connections for myself.  Currently I am working at Jersey Shore State Bank as a teller and have communicated with my supervisors my interest in working with the Marketing department at the bank in order to gain some experience.  I have also worked part-time with a local State Farm Agent who is interested in helping me further my education and experience.

I don’t have an “in stone” plan but, I like it that way.  It allows me to keep my options open so that I can choose a path that I will enjoy and one that will help me become successful.  I’m not limiting myself to one thing that I might later decide I don’t like.  I will be able to be more flexible when it comes to finding a job that I know I will love.

Leave a comment